Yau Mathematical Sciences Center

In December 2009, Tsinghua University established Mathematical Sciences Center, with internationally renowned mathematics master Professor Shing-Tung Yau appointed as the Director of the center. As a major strategic measure to support development in mathematics at Tsinghua University, the Ministry of Education officially approved the establishment of Yau Mathematical Sciences Center managed by Tsinghua University at the end of 2014. Under the leadership of Professor Shing-Tung Yau, YMSC has made substantial development in top talents recruitment, outstanding mathematical talents cultivation, cutting-edge scientific research and mathematical discipline construction, making it a world-class research center of significant international influence.

Upholding the ‘International, Open and Academic’ spirit, YMSC has attracted a large number of top mathematical scholars and cultivated a group of outstanding young talents. Mathematical research at YMSC covers mainly 5 major research areas and 3 crossdisciplinary research directions.

The fundamental task of the YMSC is to introduce high-level talents and bring up a new generation of world-leading mathematicians. YMSC has made remarkable achievements in faculty enrollment and development. In 2021, Caucher Birkar, winner of the 2018 Fields Medal, was introduced to YMSC as a professor. Up to now, there are 105 full-time faculty members and research fellows, including 20 full professors, 10 associate professors, 40 assistant professors, and 35 postdoctoral fellows working actively at YMSC.

Around faculty development and student cultivation, YMSC keeps exploring and innovating the modes of mathematical talents selection and cultivation. It has established a series of talent selection and communication platforms including "S. T. Yau High School Science Award", " S.-T. Yau College student Mathematics Contests ", "New World Mathematics Award", "ICCM Medal of Mathematics", "Distinguished Lectures", "Master Forums", " International Chinese Mathematical Union" and " International Congress of Chinese Mathematicians ". In addition, it has signed Memoranda of Understanding with relevant departments of nearly 30 world top universities and research institutes, such as Harvard University, Stanford University and Oxford University. More than 300 mathematicians as well as experts and scholars in related areas visit YMSC each year for exchange and communication. It has also hosted many important international academic conferences at Tsinghua University or Tsinghua Sanya International Mathematical Forum. A large number of academicians in various countries as well as winners of the Nobel Prize, the Fields Medal and Wolf Prize have visited YMSC for communication and speech delivery.

Today, mathematical sciences are facing with unprecedented development opportunities, with strong supports from the Tsinghua University. YMSC is determined to cultivate top math talents, achieve cutting-edge original research results and build a most advanced mathematical sciences research center, in a bid to make Tsinghua University one of the most prestigious university in the world.

Copyright © 2021 New World Mathematics Awards

contact:

Competition Headquarters Office:address

Email:nwma@tsinghua.edu.cn

Phone:010-62797260

contact:

Competition Headquarters Office:address

Email:nwma@tsinghua.edu.cn

Phone:010-62797260

清华大学丘成桐数学科学中心

2009年12月,清华大学成立数学科学中心(简称“数学中心”),聘请国际著名数学大师丘成桐先生担任中心主任。作为支持清华大学发展数学学科的重大战略举措,教育部于2014年底正式批准依托清华大学成立丘成桐数学科学中心。在丘成桐先生的带领下,经过十二年建设,数学中心在高端人才引进、杰出数学人才培养、高水平研究和数学学科建设方面取得了跨越式发展,已成为具有重要国际影响力的科研中心。

中心秉承“国际性、开放性、学术性”的建设定位,以开放活跃的学术氛围,吸引了一大批杰出数学顶尖人才,并开始为国家输送优秀青年学者。建成以纯粹数学为核心的“五大领域”和“三个交叉研究方向”的综合性学科布局。

数学中心以高水平人才引进、造就新一代世界领先数学家为根本任务。2021 年,成功引进 2018 年菲尔兹奖得主 Caucher Birkar,担任中心教授。截至目前,数学中心共有全职在校教师和科研人员105人,其中教师70人(正教授20人、副教授10人、助理教授40人),在站博士后35人。

围绕人才引进与培养的根本任务,数学中心不断探索和创新数学人才发掘培养模式,建立并形成了包括“丘成桐中学科学奖”“丘成桐大学生数学竞赛”“新世界数学奖”和“ICCM数学奖”,“四大数学家冠名讲座”“大师论坛”“世界华人数学家联盟”和“世界华人数学家大会”等系列人才发掘和交流平台,并先后与美国哈佛大学、斯坦福大学及英国牛津大学等国内外30余所高校和科研机构建立了良好的合作关系。每年超过300位数学家及相关领域专家学者来中心工作、访学和交流。许多重要的国际学术会议在中心和和“清华三亚国际数学论坛”会议基地召开,众多院士,诺贝尔奖、沃尔夫奖、菲尔兹奖得主等来中心访问、交流和演讲。

今天的数学科学面临前所未有的历史机遇。数学中心将秉持开拓、创新、谋长远的发展宗旨,面向国家战略需求,瞄准世界科技前沿,凝聚师生力量,齐心协力,扎实工作,在培养高素质一流创新人才,取得国际原创性科研成果,世界领先水平的数学学科及师资队伍方面取得突破性进展;为建设成为世界一流国际数学基地、为清华大学建设世界一流大学的奋斗目标和中华民族伟大复兴而努力奋斗!

版权所有© 2021 丘成桐大学生数学竞赛

联系我们:

竞赛总部办公室:北京市海淀区清华大学静斋 丘成桐数学科学中心100084

邮箱:college-contest@tsinghua.edu.cn

电话:010-62797260

联系我们:

竞赛总部办公室:北京市海淀区清华大学静斋 丘成桐数学科学中心100084

邮箱:college-contest@tsinghua.edu.cn

电话:010-62797260