The 10th S.-T. Yau College Student Mathematics Contest successfully completed

Release time:2019-05-27



On the evening of May 27, the 10th S.-T. Yau College Student Mathematics Contest award ceremony was held at Beijing Friendship Hotel. 59 awards were announced, including Individual Award (Hua Award, Chern Award, Chow Award, Xu Award, and Lin Award), Individual Overall Award and Team Award. Contestants from Tsinghua University get great results, winning 15 Individual Awards (3Gold 2Silver 10Bronze), and 2 Team Awards (1Gold 1Silver). Among them, Student Bu Chenjing is the most outstanding, winning Individual Overall Award (Gold Medal) and 3 other awards. Students from Peking University and Fudan University also made great results in this Contest.

Professor Xu Chen, Secretary of the Party Committee of Tsinghua University; Professor Shing-Tung Yau, Director of the Yau Mathematical Science Center; Prof. Yang Lo, Academician of the Chinese Academy of Sciences; Professor Mu-tao Wang and Professor Wilfried Schmid, representatives of the international juries, addressed the Award Ceremony and presented awards to the winners. More than 200 people attended the Award Ceremony, including Professor Boling Guo from Institute of Applied Physics and Computational Mathematics; Professor Qun Lin from Chinese Academy of Sciences; Mr. Xiaoquan Xu, General Manager of R&F Group (Beijing branch); famous mathematicians, leaders, department head, international juries, contestants, media representatives, etc.

At the award ceremony, Secretary Xu Chen, on behalf of Tsinghua University, extended her warm welcome to all the scholars, guests and contestants, and expressed her heartfelt thanks to the Yau Organizing Committee for the unremitting efforts in the selection and training of young talents. Xu Chen said that after ten years of development, S.-T. Yau College Student Mathematics Contest has become a well-known youth mathematics competition, providing a platform for young students to communicate, learn and exchange ideas, and having a broad and positive effect on mathematical education in Chinese universities. She pointed out that mathematics is not only an ancient and charming subject, but also an important basis for modernization, playing a key or even decisive role in many fields. Every student who wants to devote to scientific research should have a good knowledge of mathematics. Tsinghua university will continue to value the development of mathematics, further strengthen the cooperation with other colleges at home and abroad, improve the quality of talent training, and make due contributions to the development of Chinese mathematics.



Professor Shing-Tung Yau reviewed the original intention to set the S.-T. Yau College Student Mathematics Contest, and emphasized that college students should master the basic knowledge and tools of mathematics. As the Chair of the S.-T. Yau College Student Mathematics Contest, he was never absent from any Finals in the past ten years. China needs a lot of good mathematicians, as well as a lot of good applied mathematicians. According to Professor Yau, in the interview, some contestants were asked questions which were part of his doctoral thesis. He was impressed to find second-year and third-year college students answered these questions correctly. I hope that students continue to work hard, be passionate about academics, and do world-class learning.


In this year’s contest, there are 33 renowned International Juries, including Prof. Shing-Tung Yau, Chair of S.-T. Yau College Student Mathematics Contest, Prof. Wilfried Schmid from Harvard University, Prof. Igor Shparlinski from the University of New South Wales, Prof. Jianqing Fan from Princeton University, Prof. Xu-jia Wang from Australian National University, Prof. Jun Liu from Harvard University, and Prof. Mu-Tao Wang from Columbia University. From five subjects (Geometry and Topology, Algebra and Number Theory, Probability and Statistics, Applied and Computational Mathematics, Analysis and Partial Differential Equations), through two forms of test (written test in regional contest and interview in finals), this contest assesses students’ basic mathematical knowledge and thinking, and comprehensively evaluates students’ mathematical ability and potential. The test questions were formulated by top mathematicians both home and abroad lead by Prof. Shing-Tung Yau. The range and difficulty of the test are similar to that of Doctoral Qualification Exam in world famous universities.


Professor Pin Yu, Chair of S.-T. Yau College Student Mathematics Contest Organizing Committee introduced the organizing, evaluating and award setting of this Contest. He reviewed the goal of this Contest at its establishment---to make efforts to train excellent mathematicians in China, provide a fair competition opportunity to each contestant, and invite famous mathematicians to interview excellent contestants to evaluate their level and ability. Professor Yu also said that this year’s contest introduced Mark Checking System by Team Leaders to ensure fairness and transparency of the Contest.


Professor Mu-Tao Wang from Columbia University, who has served as a jury many times, said that he has witnessed the excellent performance and exciting progress of the contestants. At the same time, he encouraged students who failed to win the prize not to be discouraged and make full use of the abundant academic resources. “Success requires accumulation and persistence”, he said, adding that he hopes students stick to their math path. Professor Wilfried Schmid, from Harvard University in the US and a representative of the International Juries, pointed out that winning a gold medal in a sports competition is usually the ultimate goal, while winning a gold medal in a Yau Contest may be the starting point of a mathematical career. Through this contest, it is more important to learn how to communicate and cooperate with others.

Contestants compete on the same stage, discuss and communicate with top international experts face to face, and improve comprehensive skills through the Contest. Ben Liu, winner of Gold Medal of Chow Award (Algebra and Number Theory), said S.-T. Yau College Student Mathematics Contest set up a platform for college students to compete, learn and show their mathematical ability. He will make more efforts to further his study in mathematics. Chenjing Bu, winner of Gold Medal of Individual Overall Contest, expresses thanks to his teachers for their guidance and help in his studies. “S.-T. Yau Mathematical Contest comprehensively evaluates how well the contestants master the mathematical knowledge, and the interview helps him better communicate with others”, he said.


Since its launch in January, the 10th S.-T. Yau Mathematical Contest lasted for 4 months, covering 17 exam sites in Mainland China, Hong Kong and Taiwan. More than 1100 students and 40 teams from 296 universities registered the Contest. 94 students, 11 teams from 11 universities including Tsinghua University, Peking University, Fudan University, University of Science and Technology of China, The Chinese University of Hong Kong and Taiwan University entered the Finals


The S.-T. Yau Mathematical Contest was initiated and set up by Professor Shing-Tung Yau in 2010. After ten years of development, the Contest has gradually formed its unique brand effect in the world and became important way to discover and select outstanding graduate candidates. The award of this Contest has become an important reference when applying for world famous universities. It attracts more college students to participate in the contest. Up to now, more than 10,000 college students from more than 500 universities in mainland China, Hong Kong and Taiwan have taken part in the contest. More than 520 students were awarded prizes. According to statistics, about 80 percent of the winning students chose to further study in mathematics. Half of the students have entered Tsinghua University, Peking University, Harvard University, Yale University and Massachusetts Institute of Technology for graduate or doctoral studies.



Copyright© 2020 S.-T. Yau College Student Mathematics Contest

Contact Us:

Competition Headquarters Office:Yau Mathematical Sciences Center, Jing Zhai, Tsinghua University, Hai Dian District, Beijing,China 100084

Email:college-contest@tsinghua.edu.cn

Phone:010-62797260

Contact Us:

Competition Headquarters Office:Yau Mathematical Sciences Center, Jing Zhai, Tsinghua University, Hai Dian District, Beijing,China 100084

Mailbox:college-contest@tsinghua.edu.cn

Phone:010-62797260

第十届丘成桐大学生数学竞赛落幕

发布时间:2019-05-27


5月27日晚,第十届丘成桐大学生数学竞赛颁奖典礼在北京友谊宾馆举行,个人单项奖“华罗庚奖”“陈省身奖”“周炜良奖”“许宝騄奖”“林家翘奖”、个人全能奖“丘成桐奖”以及团体奖共59个奖项逐一揭晓。清华大学参赛选手获得15项单项奖(3金2银10铜)和2项团体奖(1金1银)在内的17个奖项,其中卜辰璟表现突出,获得个人全能金奖等4个奖项。此外,北京大学、复旦大学等高校学子亦在本届丘赛中取得优异成绩。

清华大学党委书记陈旭教授,丘成桐数学科学中心主任丘成桐院士,中国科学院杨乐院士,国际评委代表王慕道教授、Wilfried Schmid教授等在颁奖典礼上致辞,并为获奖学生颁奖。北京应用物理与计算数学研究所郭柏灵院士,中国科学院林群院士,富力地产集团副总经理、北京公司总经理徐晓泉先生,国内外高校及研究机构的著名数学家、相关领导和院系负责人,竞赛国际评委,参赛选手和媒体代表等200余人出席颁奖典礼。

在颁奖典礼上,陈旭书记代表清华大学向各位学者、嘉宾和参赛选手的到来表示热烈欢迎,对丘赛组委会为青年人才选拔和培养做出的不懈努力表示衷心的感谢。陈旭表示,历经十年发展,丘成桐大学生数学竞赛已成为拥有较高国际知名度与良好社会效应的青年数学竞赛,为青年学子提供了一个相互交流、学习,碰撞思想火花的平台,对中国大学的数学教育产生了广泛而积极的影响。她指出,数学既是一门古老而充满魅力的学科,也是当今现代化建设的重要基础,在很多领域起着关键性甚至是决定性的作用。每一个有志于从事科学事业的青年都应该具有良好的数学素养。清华大学也将一如既往地重视数学学科的发展,进一步加强与国内外兄弟院校的合作,不断提高人才培养质量,为中国数学走向世界做出应有的贡献。

丘成桐院士回顾了丘赛成立的初衷,强调大学生对数学基础知识和工具的掌握。作为竞赛总主席,丘院士十年来从未缺席任何一届总决赛,每天从清晨忙碌至深夜,希望看到青年学生做学问的精神。中国需要一大批好的数学家,也需要一大批好的应用数学家。丘成桐院士表示,在这次比赛中,有些选手在面试中回答的问题是他博士毕业论文的一部分,作为大多是大学二年级、三年级的学生,能够正确回答不容易。希望同学们继续努力,对学问有真正的喜爱,真正做世界一流的学问。

本届丘赛由总主席丘成桐院士、哈佛大学Wilfried Schmid院士、新南威尔士大学Igor Shparlinski院士、普林斯顿大学范剑青院士、澳大利亚国立大学汪徐家院士、哈佛大学刘军教授、哥伦比亚大学王慕道教授等33位世界知名数学家担任国际评委,从几何与拓扑、代数与数论、概率与统计、应用与计算数学、分析与偏微分方程5个方向,通过分赛区笔试及总决赛面试两种考核形式,对学生的数学基本知识与思维能力进行考核,综合评价参赛学生的数学学科基本素质和发展潜力。竞赛试题由丘成桐院士领衔国内外一流数学家制定,测试范围和难度与国外知名大学的数学博士生资格考试相当。

丘赛组委会主席于品教授介绍了本届竞赛组织评奖情况,重温丘赛设立之初的目标——为在中国培养优秀的数学家作出努力,为每一位参赛选手提供公平的竞争机会,邀请知名数学家面试成绩优秀的选手鉴定他们的水平与能力。于品教授还表示,为保证考试公平与透明,今年丘赛引入了领队查分制。

本届丘赛评委代表、美国哥伦比亚大学教授王慕道教授多次担任丘赛评委,见证了参赛选手们的优秀表现和“长江后浪推前浪”的可喜发展,同时鼓励未获奖的同学不要气馁,充分利用丰富的学术资源。他表示,成功需要积淀和坚持,希望同学们坚持自己的数学之路。国际评委代表、美国哈佛大学Wilfried Schmid教授指出,通常体育竞赛获得金牌是终极目标,而丘赛获得金牌或许是数学生涯的起点,通过丘赛,学会如何与人沟通和合作更为重要。

参赛者们同场竞技,与国际专家零距离研讨和交流,通过比赛提升个人的综合能力。周炜良奖(代数、数论与组合方向)金奖得主、山东大学刘奔表示,丘赛为大学生搭建了一个展现数学能力的平台,大家互相切磋学习交流,希望以此为节点,进一步努力学习数学。个人全能奖金奖得主、清华大学卜辰璟对老师们在学业上的指导和帮助表示感谢。他表示,丘赛全面考查了选手对数学知识的掌握程度,而通过面试让他学会如何更好地进行沟通交流。

竞赛自今年1月启动以来,历时4个月,覆盖内地和港台地区的17个考点,最终来自清华大学、北京大学、复旦大学、中国科学技术大学、香港中文大学、台湾大学等11所高校的94名学生、11支团队从296所高校的1100余名参赛学生、40支团队中脱颖而出,入围总决赛。参赛选手中,清华大学丘成桐数学英才班3位同学首次作为大一新生与高年级同学同台参赛,初试锋芒,2名同学获铜奖。

丘成桐大学生数学竞赛2010年由丘成桐先生发起并设立。历经十年发展,丘赛逐渐在国际上形成了独特的品牌效应,成为发掘和选拔优秀研究生的重要途径,为优秀学子申请世界名校提供有效的“入场券”,吸引了越来越多的大学生踊跃参加。截至目前,中国内地、香港和台湾地区共计500余所大学10000余名大学生参加丘成桐大学生数学竞赛,获奖大学生520余名。据统计,获奖的大学生中约80%的获奖学生选择继续在数学专业深造,近半数的学生已分别进入清华、北大、哈佛、耶鲁、麻省理工学院等中外知名大学攻读硕士和博士学位。

版权所有© 2020 丘成桐大学生数学竞赛

联系我们:

竞赛总部办公室:北京市海淀区清华大学静斋 丘成桐数学科学中心100084

邮箱:college-contest@tsinghua.edu.cn

电话:010-62797260

联系我们:

竞赛总部办公室:北京市海淀区清华大学静斋 丘成桐数学科学中心100084

邮箱:college-contest@tsinghua.edu.cn

电话:010-62797260